Richard Allan, Chairman of Parthenon 2004,speaking at the Parthenon 2004/BCRPM event, "Marbles United" on Monday 27th, said:

"I will also be announcing leading British Olympic Medal Winners who have recently signed up to support the campaign, including Linford Christie and Torvill and Dean. They know better then anyone else the true spirit of the Olympics and have recognised 2004 provides the perfect opportunity for Britain to make this gesture."

British Olympic Medal Winners who have signed up to the Parthenon 2004 say:

"This is Britain's ideal opportunity to showcase its cultural commitment to the international community amidst the backdrop of the world's truly uniting sports celebration - the Olympic Games".
Tessa Sanderson OBE

"For too long bureaucracy has masked commonsense. The Olympic Games is more than just sporting pursuits, the Olympic ideals owe so much to the cultural celebration displayed every 4 years and Britain can play a major part by returning the marbles to their rightful birthplace."
Steve Smith

"The Parthenon marble stones should be reunited and reinstated with the remaining originals in the Temple on the Acropolis. This is their rightful and original resting home in Athens. It is comparable with the Stone of Scone/The Stone of Destiny that had been in Westminster for 700 years and is now back in Scotland."
Allan Wells

Athletes who have given their support to the Campaign include:

o Linford Christie: Gold Medallist 100m Barcelona 1992
o Jonathan Edwards: Gold Medallist Triple Jump Sydney 2000, current world record holder
o Daley Thompson: Gold Medallist Decathlon 1980 Moscow and Gold Medallist 1984 Los Angeles, World Champion 1983.
o Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean: Gold Medallist's Ice Dancing (Pairs), Sarajevo 1984
o Tessa Sanderson: Gold Medallist Women's Javelin, Los Angeles 1984
o David Hemery: Gold Medallist 400m Hurdles, Mexico 1968
o Allan Wells: Gold Medallist 100m, Moscow 1980
o Jason Queally: Gold Medallist 1k Time Trial, Sydney 2000
o Mark Richardson: Silver Medallist 4 x 400m Men's Relay, Atlanta 1996
o Chris Hoy: Silver Medallist Olympic Sprint Cycling, Sydney 2000

Non-Olympian sportspeople also supporting the campaign are:
o Will Carling: Former England Rugby Captain
o Julius Francis: Former Commonwealth Heavyweight Champion